NEW HAVEN, Conn. – Junior point guard Jenna Clark (Pittsburgh, Pa.) of the Yale women’s basketball team has been selected as one of 20 watch list members for the 2023 Nancy Lieberman Award. The award, now in its 24th year, recognizes the top point guard in women’s college basketball. The Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Fame and the Women’s Basketball Coaches Association (WBCA) announced the 20 watch list candidates Monday.

Clark emerged as one of the best point guards in the Ivy League last season, earning second team All-Ivy recognition. She established a Yale single-season record with 160 assists. That was 13 more than any other player in the league last year. She had 10 or more assists in a game three times, with a high of 11 (Jan. 15 in the win at Cornell). She ranked among the league’s top 20 in:

  • Assists per game (5.9, 1st) (11th nationally)
  • Three-point field goals per game (11th, 1.5)
  • Points per game (14th, 11.2)
  • Rebounds per game (18th, 4.8)
  • Steals per game (18th, 1.4)

Clark is a graduate of Thomas Jefferson High.

A national committee of top college basketball personnel determined the watch list of 20 candidates. To be considered for this prestigious award, candidates must exhibit the floor leadership, playmaking and ball-handling skills of Class of 1996 Hall-of-Famer Nancy Lieberman. Previous winners include Caitlin Clark, Iowa (2022); Paige Bueckers, UConn (2021); Sabrina Ionescu, Oregon (2018-20); Skylar Diggins, Notre Dame (2012-13); Diana Taurasi, Connecticut (2003-04) and Sue Bird, Connecticut (2000-02).

This watch list will be narrowed down to 10 in mid-February and then five finalists will be selected in March that will be presented to Nancy Lieberman and the selection committee.

Players will have the ability to play themselves on or off the list until the final five finalists are announced. The winner of the award will be announced on a date to be determined.
Fan voting for the award will open on Friday, Oct. 21. Fans can vote for their favorite players in each of the three rounds. The top 10 player selections from the fan vote will get an additional vote towards making the next round.

NCAA Basketball
Yale University
Contact: Sam Rubin, 203-314-2668 cell